The Kodiak Island Borough is a second-class borough incorporated September 24, 1963. The Borough currently operates under a Manager form of government. The Manager is hired by the Assembly and oversees the day-to-day affairs of the Borough. The Assembly is comprised of seven members elected to govern the Borough. The Borough Mayor, also elected by the people, presides over the Assembly meetings, votes in the case of a tie, and serves as a ceremonial figure for certain Borough affairs. 

  • 6:30 p.m.
  • First and third Thursday of each month
  • Borough Assembly Chambers
    710 Mill Bay Rd. Room 232
    Kodiak, AK 99615
  • Citizens Comments and Public Hearings: 907-486-3231 Local;1-855-492-9202 Toll-Free 
Work sessions are normally held the second and fourth Thursday of each month at 6:30 p.m. in the School District Conference Room.

Agendas & Minutes

View additional information about Assembly meetings, agendas, and packets, or listen to audio at
Meeting Info. 

Mayor & Assembly Members

Assembly Roster
  • Scott Smiley                                
    Term Expires: October 2019                  
  • Dennis Symmons                              
    Term Expires: October 2021  
  •  James Turner
     Term Expires: October 2021
  • Scott Arndt
    Term Expires: October 2019